Don’t Let Blogging Overwhelm You! Have a Cocktail Instead…

large_300451282

photo credit: Thomas Hawk via photopin cc

As much as I am married to the blog, and addicted to reading other blogs; I can still get a bit overwhelmed sometimes when I think of the amount of work and commitment it takes to start and maintain a successful blog. Like most bloggers, I own more than one blog, and I have to set priorities each day; and think about which one requires my attention in the present moment.

I have developed very simple, but effective ways of keeping my blogs interesting and inviting. A lot of my decisions are based on my own uniqueness; doing things in a way that only I can do them. I have learned to release the self-judgement over my writing and my art, and to just find a way to get it all done, with wonder, and energy.

Letting go, is the number one way to keep yourself from being overwhelmed by the blog. And even that, takes a bit of work and commitment.

I offer you a few simple, but magical ways to stay married to the blog; to invoke the goddesses of creativity, and to keep it all fresh and fruity!

1. This is not English class. Throw the rules to the wind.

Your blog is your baby, and you can raise it anyway you like! You can make up words, phrases, and allow yourself to stop worrying about being judged over the proper use of words and sentence structure. I think of blogging as an art form, well, that’s how I think of life. Of course, if your blog is about proper sentence structure and perfect grammar, then by all means, continue on….

2. Use other ways to express yourself besides words.

Yes, I know it’s a blog, and most blogs contain a lot of words. But you can incorporate artwork, photos, videos, soundtracks, etc. into your posts. Think outside the octagon (see what I mean?) when it comes to how you say, what you want to say.

3. Make a ritual of it.

Light a candle, grab a glass of wine, pray to your goddess and write your post, every Sunday, just as the moon becomes visible. Well, that’s what I would do, think of what you would do!

4. Ask a friend for their opinion about some random subject, then steal it and make it your own.

This is not theft. I was raised as an honest, law-abiding citizen. This is simply expanding your scope and range of topic ideas. And if they are a real friend, they won’t mind. 🙂

5. Don’t be silly, take a break.

Ok, if you are really having a DAY! and you simply have nothing inspiring or helpful to say, then just leave it alone. Every day is not the same and every mood changes sooner or later.

For those of you who have very serious blogs with very serious content; you’ll just have to suck it up.

The End

Leave a Reply

